In 1947, seven members of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated felt the need to establish a chapter in Omaha, Nebraska. An organizational meeting was held to discuss the procedures needed to charter a chapter. The Central Regional Director was contacted and plans were made to establish a chapter.


On November 24, 1947, Gamma Xi Mixed Chapter was established. The charter members were Thelma Costen, Kathryne Favors, Katherine Fletcher, Beatrice Mosley, Jewel Robinson, Alyce Wilson, and Esther Woods. The mixed chapter (collegiate and alumnae members) began conducting Delta business.


The first President was Katherine Fletcher. On July 1, 1981, Omaha Alumnae Chapter came into existence and all undergraduate activities ceased. Gamma Xi Mixed Chapter was divided into two chapters, Gamma Xi for collegiate and Omaha Alumnae for graduates. The first President of Omaha Alumnae was Joan Baker Standifer. The Omaha Alumnae Chapter celebrated 70 years of sisterhood, scholarship, and service on November 24, 2017.


Gamma Xi (Mixed) and Omaha Alumnae Charter Members were:
Thelma Major Costen
Kathryne Taylor Favors
Katherine Clark Fletcher
Beatrice Robinson Mosley
Jewel Jones Robinson
Alyce McCarrol Wilson
Esther Lester Woods